Wreath to be Lit in Honor of Fallen Officers

Share with your friends!

A wreath at the Bucks County Courthouse in Doylestown was lit to honor 12 law enforcement officers,who lost their lives in the line of duty in Bucks County since 1914.

The Bucks County Commissioners and Jack Jones, who is Morrisville Borough Police Chief and Bucks County Fire Chiefs Association President, lit the six-foot wreath with blue lights on Thursday.

The wreath, which is part of Project Blue Light, is adorned with 12 white ornaments symbolizing the officers, who have been killed on duty across the county.

The 12 fallen officers are:

  • Pennsylvania State Constable Henry A. Kolbe, Sept. 22, 1914
  • Bucks County Sheriff Abraham L. Kulp, Feb. 24, 1927
  • Dublin Borough Police Chief Eli M. Myers, Oct. 31, 1965
  • Bristol Township Police Sergeant George M. Stuckey, March 29, 1972
  • Bensalem Township Police Officer James K. Armstrong, April 15, 1975
  • Bensalem Township Police Officer Robert A. Yezzi, Aug. 12, 1980
  • Bucks County Deputy Sheriff George M. Warta Jr., Sept. 22, 1986
  • Bucks County Deputy Sheriff Thomas A. Bateman, Sept. 22, 1986
  • Bucks County Ranger Stanley E. Flynn, June 9, 1993
  • Plumstead Township Police Officer Joseph Hanusey, May 18, 2002
  • Newtown Borough Police Officer Brian S. Gregg, Sept. 29, 2005
  • Middletown Township Detective Christopher C. Jones, Jan. 29, 2009

Project Blue Light encourages people to include a blue light in their holiday decorations to remember law enforcement officials, who have given their lives in the performance of their duties. It also honors the men and women who continue to work in law enforcement, putting their lives on the line every day.

This story was originally published in the Newtown Patch and can be read here.

This entry was posted in News and Events Happening in our Service Area. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply